This is my first post first post trying to document my camera collection in a little more detail and I thought I would start with one of my favourites. I am a fan of Voigtlanders and have 5 in my collection.  This was my second one and my first Rangefinder.

 

All shot with Olympus Pen-F and Olympus F.Zuiko 38mm f1.8

 

This is such a great little camera that is simple to use and very compact, making it easy to keep in my bag.  The case suffered some wear and the front/top is separated from the rest.  This is actually better for me as I can leave it in it’s ‘half-case’ with the body well protected.  Otherwise the other half would be hanging down and I find they get in the way whilst shooting.

It’s a fixed lens so can’t be swapped out though with it being a good one (50mm 1:2.8 Color Skopar)  there’s not much need.  Voigtlander are one of the top lens manufacturers and some of their interchangeable lenses go for lots of money.  The name continues (albeit under licence) for modern lenses now, it’s a different company but they still make very good lenses.  Actually I understand that as Voigtlander was founded in 1756 they are the oldest name in cameras!

It has a light meter on the top which is linked to the shutterspeed.  I can’t say it’s super accurate but it’s close enough to use.

The design is very similar to the Vito B which I also have and you can see that the product development has been an evolution.

If you are looking for a nice little rangefinder that you can tuck in your pocket I recommend this one.

Make Model Film/format Year Lens Shutter Aperture
Voigtlander Vitomatic II 35mm Rangefinder 1958 1:3.5 80mm B, 80, 30, 15, 8, 4,  1, ½, ¼, 1/8, 1/15, 1/30, 1/80, 1/125  and 1/300 sec f2.8-22

I took these with this camera on Kodak T 400