… I sold my first photo.  After over 20 or so years of taking amature pictures I actually sold an image that I took. Okay okay, perhaps “sold” is pushing it a little;in reality someone paid a whole 25 cents to download an image of mine from a stock photo website.

So maybe that’s not such a big thing to get excited about (?) but the thing is it was completely unexpected as I didn’t even know I had images available for purchase.

It’s not that my content has been shared, stolen or hacked or anything, it’s just I missed an event in one of my inboxes; I will explain…

For a couple of years now I have been trying to get on the books of a stock site (a microstock site).  Yeah, getting big for my boots thinking I am a proper photographer and all that. Their technical standards are quite high I seemed to fail to achieve what they wanted.  You had to submit a batch of a certain number and have enough pass to be able to get started with them.  So every few months I had another go, but each time “no”.  The failures were rather ambiguous to me and it was quite frustrating trying again and again to get sufficient passed for me to join the ranks of other contributors; I always seemed to be just below the percentage threshold.

So I gave up.  I decided it wasn’t worth the effort and stopped looking.

I had set up an email address specifically for this kind of thing and I hadn’t looked at that inbox for a little while.  Yesterday I went in to clear up the spam and organise it a little and as I was doing that I noticed an email from the site saying “You’re Approved!”.  Slightly confused (as I hadn’t submitted anything since my last attempt) I logged in and I see that I have indeed got two (yes a whole two) photos on the market and not only that…

Kerching!…

I also see that I had earnings from a paid download of one those images earlier this month!

I know it’s just a few cents but it was a nice thing to find and as they say from little acorns do oak trees grow.  It’s important to enjoy successes no matter how small.

I’m still a little confused as to how I got through the entrance exam but I have a vague memory of my last attempt getting stuck in their process and emailing them to find out what the problem was and losing interest after that, so i can only assume that that last batch was good enough.  Anyway, now that I’m accepted I need to think about uploading more inventory.  Part of me is still debating whether it’s worth it as it is a lot of effort to sort, upload, add keywords etc and they can still refuse some images.  To make make any kind of real income you need several hundred images (maybe a thousand or two) and that’s a lot to prepare.  There are other stock sites which appear to be easier and I was looking at those too (maybe spreading my eggs over multiple baskets might be the way to go).

Anyway, I have achieved a milestone and I now know that I can make images that are potentially commercial.

2017 might be an interesting year…

 

 

