A weekend with the Olympus Pen-F and I am sold.

I was very impressed with this camera – let me rephrase that… I love love love this camera.

With the Pen-F, I had the Olympus ED 14-150mm f/4-5.6 II Lens which I understand is equivalent to a 30-300 SLR lens.  This gave me a good range and I was able to tackle most situations with it.

The camera performed very well and I found it easy and intuitive to use.  The only negative is on the auto focus; firstly, in continuous mode (servo on Canon) it did appear to hunt a little, I knew that this wasn’t it’s best feature but I don’t usually use that mode so don’t see it as an issue.  Second when in point focus mode the focussing square seemed to have moved when I wasn’t expecting it.  I think there is a button press to allow you to move it around which I was accidentally hitting when walking about.

The dials are well laid out and I was able to adjust aperture and speed without having to take my eye from the viewfinder.  The electronic viewfinder was without any noticeable delay so it was just like looking through the lens.  The short review in the viewfinder was great allowing me to see what I had just taken without stopping to look at the screen.

Here are some pictures as that’s the important part.  I have not edited these though I have resized to save space on all but the first one otherwise they are JPEGs straight out of the camera.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
full res

Resized

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

It is so much lighter than my SLR and I didn’t feel like I was losing anything in using it.  It works well with my opportunistic style and allows me to be more mobile.  So I think that’s it, time to get one on order and sell all my Canon gear – any takers?

