I thought I would follow up on this subject and probably try to document this further over the next few weeks.

Following the last post on this I have been continuing my investigations whilst my SLR is in for repair.

I have fairly well convinced myself at this point that I do want to move to a smaller camera but not ready to make the decision yet.  To help me on the way I am renting a Sony a6300 from BorrowLenses.com for my vacation starting this weekend.  Hopefully this will give me what I need to make a decision of some sort.

There are two things i want to get out of it.

  1. Try mirrorless in the real world and see if it makes the difference I am expecting.
  2. Try out the one of the two cameras I have in mind and check operability.

The two cameras I am considering at the moment are the Sony a6300 and the Olympus Pen-F digital.  Both fit with my needs in terms of features so it comes down to usability and livability.  The Olympus is more expensive but look beautiful the Sony more affordable ;it’s not beautiful but is well designed and I like the look of it.

A week with the Sony will give me a good idea of what it is like to use and if it is good I will probably go with it leaving extra cash for lenses and accessories.

