Okay so I had an ulterior motive for this subject.  I recently bought a light cube/tent/box (whatever you want to call it) and lights for taking pictures of objects, products etc and wanted to try it out.  These were all taken with my Canon D60 using the Sigma 24-70mm 1:2.8 lens using self timer and a cheap (slightly unstable) tripod.  These are pretty much as they came out of the camera; no cropping, Windows preset filter to set white balance/ lighting a slight angle adjustment on the last one.

IMG_8536
Turtle and bee ornament approx 1 1/2 inches long (no macro)
IMG_8542
Voigtlander Vitomatic II
IMG_8549
French coffee grinder

 

I’m quite please with the results but the lights aren’t quite sufficient to get the quality of photos I want.  At under $40 for the entire kit including light box, 2 lights 3 backdrops and a tripod (of sorts) it’s not bad and I am far from disappointed.

Next week: Bird

