last week I took my girlfriend and my daughter to the zoo in San Diego.  It’s a minimum 2 hour drive to San Diego for home so early start was planned and as tradition has it I reminded them of the song ‘Daddy’s taking us to the zoo tomorrow!’ by singing it loudly albeit briefly until I was told to shut up.  Okay so it might not have been traditional but maybe it is now.

The drive was actually trouble free and we made really good time arriving exactly at the planned 10am despite the slightly late departure getting the statutory coffee and croissant.

As an aside  what is it with American’s pronouncing French words in ‘English’ and English words as if they were French.  I naturally asked for a Croissant in the proper way (it being a french food with a french name) i.e. I said something close to cwussaant (with a very small t).  The girl on the other end of the line (it was the drive through) didn’t understand me and without thinking I said it the same again a little louder, at which point I get a slap on the leg telling me to not be so…. something or other.  So I said Crassant instead and grumbled to myself.

The zoo was very good, much bigger than i thought; I know it’s the biggest in America but still… I was impressed.  The good thing about going to zoos here is that the animals can actually be seen.  In the UK most animals being sensible and usually from warmer climates hide away inside or in a warm corner when the weather isn’t hot (which is almost always) so zoo visits are often a game of spot the animal – “I can see a foot!, just through there to the left of that leaf… see it?”

The weather was hotter than expected which meant I had to buy sun block (as I forgot to bring it).  It also meant that the animals, as well as being out in the open, were lazing about in the sun i.e not moving around much which in turn meant I could take lots of pictures.  This excludes the polar bears who were having great fun play-fighting in the pool which meant my attempts a photos through wet splashed glass were rubbish and so deleted.  You don’t realise how big polar bears are until you are right up close to them (i.e. one foot and an inch of glass )- they are really big!

So here are a few favourites from our trip, enjoy!

 

