Bike-Voodoo

I have had this bike for a little more than a year.  It’s had the least use in that time.  I know I want to go offroad but opportunities seem less than for road work especially when you have been commuting by bike a lot.

So there is not much story behind this one other than I didn’t exactly decide ot buy it and I sort of didn’t buy it.

I had another bike, it was a great bike one that I had ridden for years – a Gary Fisher Kaitai.  This was a hybrid bike and almost a 29er before 29ers were popular.

For those not in the know a 29er is a mountain bike with bigger wheels.  Most mountain bikes had 27″ wheels, whereas road bikes had 700 wheels (i know that mixing metric and imperial but don’t blame me I didn’t define wheel sizes).  Anyway there is some feeling that a bigger wheel allows you to go faster and that bumps are less of an obstacle so people started designing mountain bikes with wheels the same size (ish) as road bikes which were effectively 29″ across hence “29er”.  For the   record there is another school of thought that smaller is more maneuverable and thus a different sort of better speed can be achieved so 27s are still very popular – indeed in between sizes are also popular; I know, it’s a minefield.

…anyway, back to my bikes

So my wonderful Gary Fisher was a go anywhere do anything bike; great on the road (fast as anything) and tough off road (not that I was that hard on it). I road it from London to Brighton and from London to reading and many other good rides.

As by now I was up to three bikes (or possibly four as there was a vintage peugeot for a while) and I was riding the Motobecane mostly the Gary Fisher was less used.  I had a friend staying in England for a few months and he was also a cyclist so I lent the GF to him to use.  Unfortunately he parked it in the centre of Reading (with a goodish lock) and it was stolen 😦 Fortunately I had good insurance which offered to replace the bike with a new one of equal value including any accessories etc.  This replacement was by means of agreeing a bike of equivalent quality and specification that was available from their supplier (Halfords) and them sending me a coupon to go buy it.  Having agreed one of Halfords’ own brand Carreras was as close as I could get I awaited receipt of the coupon.

After a couple of days this arrived; in the meantime I was advised that I was at liberty to buy any bike they had once I had the coupon.  So, I started browsing their website for potential alternatives.  Here is where I discovered Voodoo and particularly the Aizan.  It had good reviews, performing better than much more expensive bikes, designed by Joe Murray (one of the original mountain bike designers) and it was a striking orange colour – I ordered one.

I went to collect it a few days later and I was not disappointed, it looked great and rode well.  Funnily, whilst I was in the shop another guy was trying to choose a bike and as soon as he saw mine he ordered one and a few weeks later the guy working in the shop told me he’s ordered one for himself too.

So, I wasn’t looking for a bike but I am glad I was able to pick this one up though it needs to get a lot more use – I do miss the GF too.

IMG_20150610_192824

Voodoo Aizan specs

* Approximate Weight (KG): 14.8kg
* Exact Frame Size: 18″
* Forks: Suntour XCR-LO R Coil, 120mm travel with lock out
* Frame Material: Alloy
* Front Brake: Tektro HDC-300 Hydraulic disc – 180mm rotor
* Number of Gears: 27
* Rear Brake: Tektro HDC-300 Hydraulic disc – 160mm rotor
* Wheel Size: 29″

* Cassette: 11-34T
* Chainset: Suntour XCM-T414WH, 44/32/22T – Square Taper – 175mm
* Fork Lock-out: Yes
* Fork travel: 120mm
* Frame Colour: Orange
* Front Mech: Shimano Alivio FD-M431
* Gear Shifters: Shimano Alivio SL-M430
* Gender: Mens
* Headset: 1 1/8 Aheadset
* Hubs: Formula alloy hubs
* Pedals: Wellgo alloy platform with toe clips
* Quick Release Front Wheel: Yes
* Quick Release Rear Wheel: Yes
* Rear Mech: Shimano Alivio RD-M430
* Rims: Double wall alloy black 32 hole disc rim
* Saddle: Voodoo Branded – Steel Rails
* Seatpost: 400mm Alloy 31.6
* Stem: 80mm length Aluminium – 31.8mm bar clamp
* Suspension: Front Suspension
* Type: Mountain Bikes
* Tyres: Continental X-King 29×2.2 w/ Wire Bead

