bostonI’ve had this Montague Boston longer than any of my other current bikes (though not in this exact configuration).  It’s not my favourite ride but it’s interesting and has been very useful – really it enabled my re-interest in cycling so I am very fond of it from that point of view. Not that I ever stopped cycling, I have commuted by bike more less regularly for every job I have had bar one.

This bike is folding which meant (and why I bought it) that I could easily take it on a plane as luggage so that when I was away from home I could make use of it.  As I say, I never really stopped riding but it did become a little stale and I wasn’t getting the fun from it as it was less of a leisure activity.  I was trying to break out of that and had done a couple of London to Brighton rides plus some other longer efforts and that was good but they were few and far between.

With this momentum starting and a trip to Canada looming I saw this bike in Evans and fell in love with it and the unusual frame shape.  I vaguely knew the brand but hadn’t seen this model.  It looked so cool and the folding aspect gave me an excuse I could use to justify buying another bike.  Lack of gears didn’t worry me as I already understood that in the most part you don’t need them also it added a certain challenge.  The rear is a flip flop hub so I could decide whether to go full fixie or take the easier freewheel option at any time – so sold!

Three weeks in freezing Canada and I made good use of it to the surprise of many locals; I felt fully justified in my purchase.  Sometime later a trip to California came up and away it came with me (together with my favourite Brooks saddle).  At this time my cycling slump was well in and my beer drinking habit was showing in that telltale middle age spread.  I brought the bike with me to tackle this and with a mindset of if I was going to be in ‘fat’ America to avoid becoming fat myself I must lose weight… which I did (over 10lb in three weeks) though simply eating less and exercising more.

As part of this I re-discovered my love for being out on two wheels; I made new cycling friends and my level rocketed as I pushed myself to keep up with them on their uber-light road bikes with me on my simple single speed.  I tackled climbs they said I couldn’t do and succeeded.  Without this bike I would still be an average occasional cyclist; not that there is anything wrong in that but for me raising myself a little has given me so much more.  Mainly the friends I now have and where that level of ability can get you – the top of a big mountain sure gives you a great view and some satisfaction in the getting there.

The bike itself isn’t that special it’s a little too small for me and so compared to my other bikes quite uncomfortable.  I have tried improving that by swapping for bullhorn bars instead of the straight one’s it came with and that helps but puts more weight forward on my arms.  It is always going to be a compromise with a folding bike.  The folding though is where it came through, it’s not a brompton; it’s a very simple swivel on the seat stem that makes it about half the size.  It has full size wheels and standard equipment so you can replace parts as with any bike.  Having had it a while I have changed quite a lot so now it a little bit of a mongrel.  I’ve changed; the bars (and brakes), Brooks saddle, clipless pedals were a must (SPDs), I upped the front ring to a 44T last year and I also had wheel trouble so replaced them with bright yellow Mango wheels which i think makes it very unique – I like bikes that stand out, which this now does.  When riding it I often get questioned about it and when people find out it folds they are really impressed.

Bike-Boston
Montague Boston (customised)

 

The make is Montague but I understand they also trade under the SwissBike brand in certain places.  I believe they designed them for military use so that bike and rider could parachute in; seems farfetched but some of there other more rugged (full mountain bike) models reflect that; this is definitely just an urban machine.

Original Specs

Color Matte Black
Frame Custom drawn 7005 Series. Aluminum tubing with horizontal dropouts and FIT System..
Fork Full Cro-Mo, with CLIX™ Wheel Release System Ramped Dropout.
Rims Alex. Alloy, 32 hole, Black. 700c.
Tires
Kenda Kwick Roller Sport 700c x 28mm slick.
Hubset Formula. Alloy, with CLIX™ front quick release. “Flip flop” Rear.
Spokes 14 Gauge Stainless
Saddle Areo Performance with “Center Gap”.
Seatpost 30.0 X 300mm Alloy.
Handlebars Riser style 30mm rise. 530mm wide. Alloy.
Stem Kalloy, Alloy Direct Connect, 7 Degree Rise.
Shifters NA
Front Derailleur NA
Rear Derailleur NA
Crankset SR Suntour. Alloy 42T chainwheel withIntegrated chain guard. Alloy 170mm crank arm.
Speeds Single Speed
Brakeset Promax. Alloy. Dual Pivot Caliper brake with Alloy levers.
Pedals Platform trekking pedal. Aluminum Cage.
Bottom Bracket Sealed Cartridge
Frame Sizes 19”, 21”
Stand over heights TBA
Folded Size 36” x 28” x 12”
Approx Weight 24lbs
MSRP $699.95

 

 

