So I guess I should lay down some sort of introduction into this blog; try and put some reasoning together for the various subject matter (if there is any) so that, in the unlikely event I might actually get some readers then they will know what they are letting themselves in for.

I have a number of interests and am generally a creative person without much of a platform to put that creativity so I decided that as I am a written word kind of guy that a blog might be a good outlet for that and it will allow various aspects of my life to come together in some useful way.

I generally compartmentalise my life so there is generally not much overlap between my interests, my work or personal life; that may be a good thing or a bad thing I’m not really sure (subject for another post?), either way I decided that it was time I tried to pull all the stuff in my head into some sort of thread that may make sense and here we are.

the subtitle above is “Unorganised comments about life,  gin,  artichoke dips,  cycling and photography” so I should probably explain where I am going with that;

Gin – Okay so gin is a delicious spirit which comes in a variety of forms and I enjoy it very much (as well as Wine, Ale and Whiskey).  My partner and friends also love this drink and we have sampled a great many over the years.  I thought I would relate my favourites and generally review gins as I come across them – this gives me an opportunity to re-taste them as I haven’t been keeping notes.

Artichoke Dips – I have had a recent liking for this kind of appetizers and have started trying them wherever I see them on the menu – time I thought for the definitive guide on where the best ones are and those to be avoided.

Cycling – With the above excesses in intake there is a need (especially when you are getting towards the later years in life) for some sort of physical exercise and for me it is cycling.  I don’t think I’m obsessive ( I only have 4 bikes, currently) but I like it a lot and in California there is plenty of opportunity for riding.  Not only does it keep me fit but it allows me to see the country in a way not possible by car and also has a great social element.  So I’ll try to present some of my thoughts on cycling, maybe my bikes but definitely some amazing a beautiful places to ride near by.

Lastly Photography – I have been taking pictures for most of my life (almost as long as I’ve been cycling) and I am not a great photographer but I do okay, taking mostly architectural but also some nature and street type photos.  I have a reasonable library of digital pictures most of which languish on a hard disk drive but a lot end up on Flickr or similar sites depending on what I think of them.  I have plans for some to actually get printed on to paper and displayed in frames (I know old school, right) but mostly those pictures get published without much commentary and here I would like to put some words in with the pictures.  I also collect cameras so there may be some posts about that.

Oh I guess I forgot Life – well that is always going to creep in especially if, as I have, you have made some changes in your life that are significant and life altering.  That wasn’t intended to sound quite so dramatic but  changing countries is quite enough to cope with and that isn’t the half of it.  So, maybe in an attempt at self-therapy I might talk about that stuff too.

So there you have it, my main themes and I reserve the right to talk about any, all or none of these as I see fit.

Thanks for reading this far hope you come back soon.

 

 

 

 

